The BTEC HND advantage of International Diploma, the passport for foreign universities

Whether in UK, US or Australia, the wonderful foreign environment would definitely add colourful international exposure to your profile and resume.

About Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals

Find out more about Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals, what and how you will learn, how you will be assessed, and your flexible options for progression.

Trusted, relevant and engaging for students

Choosing the right qualification can be a big decision for any student to make, so you need to know that the qualification you choose is fit for purpose and provides the flexibility and reputation you require to help you achieve your career goals and ambitions.

Delivered at both universities and colleges, and providing progression routes to both Higher Education and employment employment, Pearson BTEC Higher National Qualifications have been designed to provide specialist work-related learning and are offered at two levels, to allow greater flexibility for students: Higher National Certificates and Higher National Diplomas. Both are open to students looking to progress to, or within, employment, or to a degree.


Is a Higher National qualification for you?

The students who choose to study a Pearson BTEC Higher National qualification are hard-working and know what they want from their career. They understand that the best teacher is experience, and want reassurance that when they have completed their studying, they will have gained lots of it, giving them a professional and specialist edge over other graduates.


What you will learn

Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals are designed in a way that combines both the practical and cognitive skills needed for the workplace.
They are designed to give colleges the flexibility to develop engaging, relevant programmes to support their students’ professional development aspirations.
Course content could include:

  • core units covering essential underpinning knowledge and skills
  • a wide range of optional units focusing on specialist knowledge
  • different qualification pathways reflecting specialist areas in some sectors
  • locally devised units reflecting the needs of your area.

Students who achieve their Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate can go on to specialise further in their subject by studying for a Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma. Should you wish to progress from the Higher National Diploma to a final top-up year at degree level, you will be equipped with the necessary study skills to ensure a seamless transition.
Students who successfully complete a Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma might decide to use it as a starting point for working towards professional membership or studying for entry to their specialist professional body.

How you are assessed

Pearson BTEC Higher National units are assessed internally. Students are graded for each individual unit with a Pass, Merit or Distinction. They may be assessed in a number of different ways, such as:

  • presentations, written reports, accounts, surveys
  • log books, production diaries
  • role play
  • observations of practical tasks or performance
  • articles for journals, press releases
  • production of visual or audio materials, artefacts, products and specimens
  • peer and self-assessment.

All internal assessment is quality assured through internal verification and sampled through external verification by Pearson.

English language expectations

Learners are expected to be able to demonstrate English language comprehension at a level equivalent to IELTS (International English Language Testing System) 5.5 to be able to study BTEC Higher Nationals.